Marc's Mailbag - Week 15

Marc Sessler is a writer for's Around the League blog and each Friday he will answer your NFL questions, right up until the Super Bowl.

Was it wrong of the Seahawks to run the score 58-0 in their shut out of the Arizona Cardinals? - Oliver

I don't see anything wrong with how the Seattle went about their business in Sunday's wipeout of the Cardinals.

The Seahawks replaced starting quarterback Russell Wilson with plenty of time to go in the second half. They put an emphasis on the ground game, too. This one got out of hand early because of Cardinals signal-caller John Skelton throwing four interceptions before Ryan Lindley, an uneven rookie, took over.

This is the NFL. Blowouts happen, especially when you're as big of a mess as the Cardinals ... which brings us to our next question.

What's the deal with Kevin Kolb in Arizona? The Cardinals were 4-1 when he got hurt, and haven't won a game since. Clearly Skelton and Lindley are not the answer at quarterback. Will Kolb be back next season or will the Cardinals clean house and bring in someone new? - Mike, Edinburgh

Let's start with Kolb. The Cardinals owe him $11 million next season, and I don't expect Arizona to keep him around. Not for that kind of money. Meanwhile, there's almost no faith in Skelton. Lindley is a project.

Arizona's problems all tie back to the lack of a franchise quarterback. They've never filled Kurt Warner's shoes and that falls on the coaching staff. There are so many holes on this team. Ken Whisenhunt is running out of excuses. Arizona has regressed so sharply over the past few seasons. This franchise isn't quick to make changes, but keeping the current regime in place would be a nearly impossible sell on the fan base, and that impacts ticket sales -- and that gets to the heart of what keeps owners up at night.

I didn't expect the NFC East to be so close. Who do you think will win the division? Giants, Cowboys, or Redskins? – Sharon, London

A thrilling race. I picked the Giants before the season, so I'll stick with Big Blue, but no team is hotter than Washington.

With four straight wins, the Redskins creep ever closer to a playoff berth. Washington's success has everything to do with Robert Griffin III and their "pistol formation" offense, which forces defenses -- especially at the linebacker position -- to prepare for run/pass/option and zone read plays all at the same time. When your quarterback excels at protecting the ball (and RG3 has thrown just four interceptions all season) the pistol becomes a dangerous scheme. Defenses have to play mistake-free football -- or pay the price.

On the Cowboys: Dallas has been too inconsistent. Their offensive line is a mess and their most dangerous playmaker, Dez Bryant, is dealing with a broken finger. I put them third in this race, but plenty of people were counting out the Giants last year at this time, so don't listen to me.

What has happened to the Chicago Bears? They were 7-1, and now they're 8-5. Will they still be in the playoffs? - Charlie, London

The Bears haven't been the same team since suffering that epic drubbing at the hands of the 49ers on "Monday Night Football" back in Week 11. Coach Lovie Smith says they're fine at 8-5 – I beg to differ.

Chicago is going nowhere without a healthy Jay Cutler. He's actually received better protection than some might think, but Chicago's offensive line has been a weakness for too long. Cutler has taken a string of ugly shots to the head and he never seems to be in top health by the time we get to December. They've failed to protect their top asset and when Cutler isn't on the field, this becomes a very vanilla team.

Can a player win MVP if their team does not make the playoffs? - Alex, Leeds

They can, but it rarely happens.

Voters struggle voting for exceptional players on five- and six-win teams. There's too many exceptional players on 12- and 13-win squads. This season, a player like Adrian Peterson will garner MVP votes, but not enough to win it.

This will always favor (a) quarterbacks, and (b) winning quarterbacks. LaDainian Tomlinson (2006), Shaun Alexander (2005) and Marshall Faulk (2000) are the only non-QBs to win the thing since Y2K.

It doesn’t seem fair, does it?

Enjoy the games.

Follow Marc Sessler on Twitter @MarcSesslerNFL.